Supreme Court of Texas Blog

No. 23-0611
Click for Official Page


A mandamus petition was filed on August 1, 2023. The Court requested full merits briefing on October 20, 2023.

No Opinions Yet

The Court has not issued any opinions in this case.


Court of Appeals

Appellate District:3rd Court of Appeals
Outcome Below:Denied
COA Docket No.:03-23-00259-CV
Opinion Author:Honorable Thomas John Baker

Trial Court

Trial Court:200th District Court
Trial Judge:Honorable Jessica Lauren Mangrum
Trial Docket:D-1-GN-21-004630

Entries on SCOTX Orders Lists

Docket Entries

Date Event Outcome  
  This case has been pending on merits briefs.  
2024-02-23 Reply Brief (Relator)  
2024-02-08 Brief on the Merits (Real Parties in Interest)  
2024-01-08 Motion for Extension of Time disposed.   Filing granted
2024-01-05 Motion for Extension of Time to File Brief filed  
2023-12-20 Brief on the Merits (Relator)  
2023-11-08 Motion for Extension of Time to File Brief filed  
2023-11-08 Motion for Extension of Time disposed.   Filing granted
2023-10-20 Brief on the Merits Requested  
2023-09-01 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2023-08-30 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2023-08-22 Case forwarded to Court
2023-08-21 Reply to Petition for Writ of Mandamus (Relator)  
2023-08-15 Letter Filed  
2023-08-14 Response to Petition for Writ of Mandamus Filed (Real Parties in Interest)  
2023-08-04 Supreme Court of Texas Requested Response  
2023-08-04 Motion to Stay Disposed   Filing granted
2023-08-04 Stay Order issued  
2023-08-02 Record Received (See Remarks)  
2023-08-01 Court reporter/recorder's record
2023-08-01 Petition for Writ of Mandamus filed (Relator)  
2023-08-01 Case Record Filed  
2023-08-01 Motion to Stay Filed  


Party Counsel Role
Constantino, Jr. , Palma
Mr. David C. Wenholz
Jason Feltoon
Lex Townsley
Real Party In Interest
Constantino, Sr., Palma, Individually and as next friend of EP, a minor
Mr. David C. Wenholz
Mr. Jack Holtzman
Lex Townsley
Jason Feltoon
Real Party In Interest
Peters, Taylor Brock
Mr. Erik Raney Wollam
Ms. Sheila Murphy Wollam
Mr. R. Russell Hollenbeck
Ms. Maria Cristina De La Cruz
Ms. Jessica Z. Barger

Amici Curiae

Amicus Curiae Counsel
Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
Mr. Jason Niehaus
Mr. Kyle Therrian
Aaron Diaz
John Hunter Smith
Kristin R. Brown
Harris County Criminal Lawyers Association (HCCLA)
Louis Murat Newman IV
Allison Mathis