Supreme Court of Texas Blog

No. 23-1035
Click for Official Page


A mandamus petition was filed on December 19, 2023. The Court requested full merits briefing on June 21, 2024.

No Opinions Yet

The Court has not issued any opinions in this case.


Court of Appeals

Appellate District:5th Court of Appeals
Outcome Below:Denied
COA Docket No.:05-23-00984-CV
Opinion Author:Honorable Kenneth H. Molberg

Trial Court

Trial Court:193rd District Court
Trial Judge:Honorable Bridgett Nichol Whitmore
Trial Docket:DC-20-19065

Entries on SCOTX Orders Lists


Date Event  
2024-08-27 Pet/Rel reply brief on the merits due
2024-08-12 Respondent/Real party in interest brief on the merit due
2024-07-22 Relator brief on the merits due

Docket Entries

Date Event Outcome  
2024-06-21 Brief on the Merits Requested  
  This case was waiting for a decision about briefing or a possible grant between March 18, 2024 and June 21, 2024.  
2024-03-18 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2024-02-14 Correction filed (See Remarks)  
2024-02-14 Supplement to Clerk's/Reporter's Record  
2024-02-14 Reply to Petition for Writ of Mandamus (Relator)  
2024-02-13 Case forwarded to Court
2024-01-30 Response to Petition for Writ of Mandamus Filed (Real Parties in Interest)  
2024-01-02 Stay Order issued
2024-01-02 Motion to Stay Disposed   Filing granted
2024-01-02 Supreme Court of Texas Requested Response  
2023-12-27 Call received  
2023-12-27 Reply to Response to Motion  
2023-12-27 Response to Motion filed  
2023-12-20 Supreme Court of Texas Requested Response  
2023-12-19 Petition for Writ of Mandamus filed (Relator)  
2023-12-19 Case Record Filed  
2023-12-19 Motion to Stay Filed  


Party Counsel Role
Greyhound Lines, Inc.
Mr. Robert Edward Valdez
Kelsey Liu
Mr. Joseph Cuellar
Jesus Granados, Individually and as the Administrator of the Estate of Maria Granados, et al
Ms. Susan L. Stone
Enrique Gerardo Serna Martinez
Real Party In Interest

Amicus Curiae

Amicus Curiae Counsel
Tornado Bus Company and Zavala Plus, LLC
Ms. Elizabeth M. Reed
Mr. Condred C. Roberts III
Mr. Leland C. De La Garza