Supreme Court of Texas Blog

No. 23-0694
Click for Official Page


A petition was filed on August 25, 2023. The Court requested full merits briefing on January 26, 2024. The Court granted review on June 28, 2024. The case has not yet been heard at oral argument.

No Opinions Yet

The Court has not issued any opinions in this case.


Court of Appeals

Appellate District:8th Court of Appeals
Outcome Below:Reverse & Remand
COA Docket No.:08-22-00217-CV
Opinion Author:Honorable Yvonne Rodriguez

Trial Court

Trial Court:368th District Court
Trial Judge:Honorable John W. Youngblood
Trial Docket:22-0594-C368

Entries on SCOTX Orders Lists


Date Event  
2024-09-12 Oral Argument Scheduled  

Docket Entries

Date Event Outcome  
2024-06-28 Case set for oral argument   Case set for oral argument
2024-06-14 Petition for Review granted
2024-06-14 Petition for Review disposed   Filing granted
2024-05-02 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2024-04-12 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2024-04-11 Pro hac vice motion filed  
2024-04-11 Pro hac vice motion disposed   Filing granted
2024-04-11 Pro hac vice motion filed  
2024-04-11 Pro hac vice motion disposed   Filing granted
2024-04-09 Reply Brief (Petitioner)  
2024-03-26 Motion for Extension of Time to File Brief filed  
2024-03-26 Motion for Extension of Time disposed.   Filing granted
2024-03-18 Brief on the Merits (Respondent)  
2024-02-26 Brief on the Merits (Petitioner)  
2024-01-31 Motion to Withdraw Filed  
2024-01-31 Motion to withdraw disposed of   Filing granted
2024-01-26 Brief on the Merits Requested  
2023-12-12 Reply to Response (Petitioner)  
2023-11-27 Response to Petition (Respondent)  
2023-10-27 Supreme Court of Texas Requested Response  
2023-09-26 Case forwarded to Court
2023-09-22 Response Waiver filed  
2023-08-28 Court reporter/recorder's record
2023-08-28 Clerk's Record
2023-08-25 Petition for Review (Petitioner)  


Party Counsel Role
Webster, Brent Edward
Atty. Gen. W. Kenneth Paxton Jr.
Mr. Brent Webster
Ms. Angela V. Colmenero
Mr. William Cole
Ms. Lanora C. Pettit
Commission for Lawyer Discipline
Ms. Seana B. Willing
Mr. Royce Lemoine
Ms. Amanda Apolinar Kates
Mr. Michael G. Graham

Amici Curiae

Amicus Curiae Counsel
West Webb Allbritton & Gentry, P.C.
Mr. John W. Rudinger Jr.
Mr. William Geist
Mr. Gaines F. West II
Mr. Oliver Thoma
State of Montana and 17 Other States
Ms. Emily Means
Mr. Randall W. Miller
Christian B. Corrigan
Texas Lawyers and Lawyers Defending American Democracy