Supreme Court of Texas Blog

No. 21-0541
Click for Official Page


A mandamus petition was filed on June 25, 2021. The Court requested full merits briefing on September 3, 2021. The Court issued an opinion resolving the case on June 24, 2022.


June 24, 2022


Per Curiam OpinionView Electronic Briefs | Oral Argument N/A PDF


Court of Appeals

Appellate District:10th Court of Appeals
Outcome Below:Cond Granted
COA Docket No.:10-20-00237-CV
Opinion Author:Honorable Tom W. Gray

Trial Court

Trial Court:County Court at Law
Trial Judge:Honorable Tracy Sorensen
Trial Docket:12831CV

Entries on SCOTX Orders Lists


Date Event  
2022-07-11 Motion for rehearing due to be filed.

Docket Entries

Date Event Outcome  
2022-06-24 Opinion issued   Writ of Mandamus conditionally granted
2022-06-24 Petition for Writ of Mandamus disposed Petition granted pursuant to TRAP 52.8(c)
2022-06-24 Mandamus granted pursuant to TRAP 52.8
  This case was pending on merits briefs between February 1, 2022 and June 24, 2022.  
2022-02-01 Reply Brief (Petitioner)  
2022-01-06 Motion for Extension of Time disposed.   Filing granted
2022-01-05 Motion for Extension of Time to File Brief filed  
2021-12-22 Brief on the Merits (Real Parties in Interest)  
2021-11-10 Motion for Extension of Time to File Brief filed  
2021-11-10 Motion for Extension of Time disposed.   Filing granted
2021-11-03 Brief on the Merits (Relator)  
2021-09-29 Motion for Extension of Time to File Brief filed  
2021-09-29 Motion for Extension of Time disposed.   Filing granted
2021-09-03 Brief on the Merits Requested  
2021-08-20 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2021-07-13 Case forwarded to Court
2021-07-13 Reply to Petition for Writ of Mandamus (Relator)  
2021-07-12 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2021-07-12 Response to Petition (Real Parties in Interest)  
2021-07-08 Amicus Curiae Letter Received  
2021-07-02 Motion to Stay Disposed   Filing granted
2021-07-02 Stay Order issued
2021-07-02 Supreme Court of Texas Requested Response  
2021-07-01 Letter Filed  
2021-06-28 Response to Motion filed  
2021-06-25 Letter Filed  
2021-06-25 Court reporter/recorder's record
2021-06-25 Petition for Writ of Mandamus filed (Relator)  
2021-06-25 Motion to Stay Filed  
2021-06-25 Case Record Filed  


Party Counsel Role
Sorenson, The Honorable Tracy
H&S Hoke Ranch, LLC
Ms. Amanda G. Taylor
Mr. Marshall Bowen
Mr. D. Todd Smith
The Honorable Scott K. Field
Mr. Bill Youngkin
Real Party In Interest
Capital Farm Credit, FLCA
Mr. Tommy J Swann
Other Interested Party
Altus Midstream Company
Mr. Derek D. Cook
Mr. Harper Estes
Other Interested Party
Breviloba, LLC
Mr. David E. Keltner
Mr. David Wayne Moorman
Mr. David F. Johnson
Ms. Harriet O'Neill
Mr. Thomas J. Forestier
Mr. Jody Scott Sanders
Mr. Paul Jacob Paschal
Mr. Joseph "Joe" R. Greenhill III
Mr. Andrew L. Edelman

Amici Curiae

Amicus Curiae Counsel
Texas Oil & Gas Association
Mr. Frederick D. Junkin
Ms. Ellen Austin Vecchio
Texas Civil Justice League
Mr. George Scott Christian
Texas Pipeline Association
Mr. James E. Mann