Supreme Court of Texas Blog

No. 19-0877
Click for Official Page


A mandamus petition was filed on September 30, 2019. The Court requested full merits briefing on January 17, 2020.

No Opinions Yet

The Court has not issued any opinions in this case.


Court of Appeals


Trial Court

Trial Court:351st District Court
Trial Judge:Honorable Mark Ellis
Trial Docket:1035159

Entries on SCOTX Orders Lists

None yet


Date Event  
2020-04-23 Pet/Rel reply brief on the merits due
2020-04-08 Respondent/Real party in interest brief on the merit due
2020-03-19 Relator brief on the merits due

Docket Entries

Date Event Outcome  
2020-02-13 Motion for Extension of Time to File Brief filed  
2020-02-13 Motion for Extension of Time disposed.   Filing granted
2020-01-24 Amicus Curiae Letter Received  
2020-01-17 Brief on the Merits Requested  
2020-01-06 Reply to Response (Relator)  
2019-12-30 Amicus Curiae Letter Received  
2019-12-10 Call received  
2019-12-09 Response to Petition for Writ of Mandamus Filed (Real Parties in Interest)  
2019-12-09 Supplement to Clerk's/Reporter's Record  
2019-11-08 Supreme Court of Texas Requested Response  
2019-10-29 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2019-10-24 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2019-10-16 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2019-10-14 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2019-10-08 Case forwarded to Court
2019-10-07 Notice of Appearance  
2019-10-01 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2019-10-01 Appendix Filed (Relator)  
2019-09-30 Call received  
2019-09-30 Case Record Filed  
2019-09-30 Petition for Writ of Mandamus filed (Relator)  


Party Counsel Role
Brown, Alfred Dewayne
Mr. Wallace B. Jefferson
Mr. Shawn L. Raymond
Mr. Joseph Samuel Grinstein
Ms. Rachel Anne Ekery
Mr. Neal S. Manne
Hegar, Glenn
Mr. Jeffrey C. Mateer
Ms. Bethany Spare
Atty. Gen. W. Kenneth Paxton Jr.
Mr. Kyle D. Hawkins
Mr. Philip A. Lionberger
Ms. Nancy L. Prosser
Real Party In Interest

Amici Curiae

Amicus Curiae Counsel
Raley, John Wesley
Mr. John Wesley Raley
Innocence Project, Inc.
Mr. Gary A. Udashen
Charles Press
Innocence Project of Texas
Charles Press
Mr. Gary A. Udashen
The Actual Innocence Clinic of the University of Texas Law School
Charles Press
Mr. Gary A. Udashen
Ellis, Rodney
Mr. Collin Joe Cox
The Cato Institute
Mr. Alex Benjamin Roberts
Ms. Kathryn June Skagerberg
Mr. Owen J. McGovern
Mr. Thomas Edward Ganucheau
Mr. Matthew Paul Whitley
Ms. Kathleen A. Gallagher
Mr. Charles 'Chad' R. Flores
Mr. Mark C. Rodriguez
Mr. Russell S. Post
Mr. Geoffrey A. Gannaway
Mr. Troy Ford
Mr. Michael Ernest Richardson II
Mr. Fields Alexander
Ms. Constance H. Pfeiffer
Mr. Nicholas M. Bruno
Mr. David M. Gunn
Mr. Curt Webb
Beal, Ron
Mr. Ronald Lynn Beal