Supreme Court of Texas Blog

No. 18-0099
Click for Official Page


A petition was filed on February 5, 2018. The Court requested full merits briefing on June 22, 2018. The Court granted review on October 19, 2018. Oral argument has been scheduled for January 23, 2019

No Opinions Yet

The Court has not issued any opinions in this case.


Court of Appeals

Appellate District:2nd Court of Appeals
Outcome Below:Reverse & Remand
COA Docket No.:02-17-00013-CV
Opinion Author:Honorable Elizabeth Sturdivant Kerr

Trial Court

Trial Court:235th District Court
Trial Judge:Honorable Janelle Haverkamp
Trial Docket:CV15-00689

Entries on SCOTX Orders Lists


Date Event  
2019-01-23 Oral Argument Scheduled  

Docket Entries

Date Event Outcome  
2018-10-19 Petition for Review disposed Filing granted
2018-10-19 Petition for Review granted
2018-10-19 Case set for oral argument   Case set for oral argument
2018-09-11 Notice of Appearance  
2018-09-11 Reply Brief (Petitioner)  
2018-08-24 Brief on the Merits (Respondent)  
2018-08-08 Brief on the Merits (Petitioner)  
2018-07-17 Motion for Extension of Time to File Brief filed  
2018-07-17 Motion for Extension of Time disposed.   Filing granted
2018-07-03 Notice of Appearance  
2018-06-27 Case Record Filed  
2018-06-22 Brief on the Merits Requested  
2018-06-22 Record Requested in Petition for Review  
2018-06-05 Reply to Response (Petitioner)  
2018-05-21 Response to Petition (Petitioner)  
2018-05-01 Phone call from Clerk's Office  
2018-05-01 Call received  
2018-05-01 Motion for Extension of Time to File Response  
2018-05-01 Motion for Extension of Time to File Response disposed   Filing granted
2018-03-23 Motion to Consolidate disposed   Filing granted
2018-03-23 Cases consolidated by Supreme Court  
2018-03-23 Supreme Court of Texas Requested Response  
2018-03-20 Motion to Consolidate filed  
2018-03-20 Phone call from Clerk's Office  
2018-03-20 Call received  
2018-03-13 Case forwarded to Court
2018-02-05 Petition for Review (Petitioner)  


Party Counsel Role
PHI, Inc.
Mr. Steven D. Sanfelippo
Mr. Michael Ross Cunningham
Texas Juvenile Justice Department f/k/a Texas Youth Commission
Mr. Kyle D. Hawkins
Mr. Philip A. Lionberger
Mr. James E. Davis
Atty. Gen. W. Kenneth Paxton Jr.
Mr. Jeffrey C. Mateer
Ms. Kara Lynne Kennedy
Mr. Brantley D. Starr
Mr. Kevin Desiderio Molina