Supreme Court of Texas Blog: Legal Issues Before the Texas Supreme Court

No. 17-0264


A mandamus petition was filed on March 31, 2017. The Court requested full merits briefing on September 22, 2017.

No Opinions Yet

The Court has not issued any opinions in this case.


Court of Appeals

Appellate District:1st Court of Appeals
Outcome Below:Denied
COA Docket No.:01-17-00128-CV
Opinion Author:Per Curiam

Trial Court

Trial Court:234th District Court
Trial Judge:Honorable Wesley R. Ward
Trial Docket:2015-28892

Entries on SCOTX Orders Lists


Date Event  
2017-11-28 Pet/Rel reply brief on the merits due
2017-11-13 Respondent/Real party in interest brief on the merit due
2017-10-23 Relator brief on the merits due

Docket Entries

Date Event Outcome  
2017-09-22 Brief on the Merits Requested  
2017-08-10 Reply to Petition for Writ of Mandamus (Petitioner)  
2017-08-08 Case forwarded to Court
2017-07-26 Letter Filed  
2017-07-24 Response to Petition for Writ of Mandamus Filed (Real Parties in Interest)  
2017-06-29 Motion for Extension of Time to File Response disposed   Filing granted
2017-06-29 Notice of Appearance  
2017-06-29 Motion for Extension of Time to File Response  
2017-06-16 Supreme Court of Texas Requested Response  
2017-06-16 Motion to Stay Disposed   Filing granted
2017-06-16 Stay Order issued
  This case was waiting for a decision about briefing or a possible grant between March 31, 2017 and June 16, 2017.  
2017-03-31 Petition for Writ of Mandamus (Relator)  
2017-03-31 Case Record Filed  
2017-03-31 Motion to Stay Filed  
2017-03-31 Letter Filed  


Party Counsel Role
Keshia Porter Richardson, Individually, as Representative of the Estate of Delandis Richardson, Deceased, and as Next Friend of M.R., M.R. and M.R. Minor Children
Mr. Nicholas Homan
Ms. Laura A. Cockrell
Mr. Vincent L. Marable III
Mr. J. Hunter Craft
Mr. Bradford Joe Gilde
Real Party In Interest
Cudd Pressure Control, Inc.
Ms. Cynthia L. Jones
Mr. H. Dwayne Newton
Other Interested Party
Ford Motor Company
Ms. Sara B. Churchin
Mr. William R. Moye
Mr. Michael W. Eady
Mr. William Leonard Mennucci