Supreme Court of Texas Blog: Legal Issues Before the Texas Supreme Court

No. 16-0748


A petition was filed on November 7, 2016. The Court requested full merits briefing on February 17, 2017.

No Opinions Yet

The Court has not issued any opinions in this case.


Court of Appeals

Appellate District:4th Court of Appeals
Outcome Below:Reverse & Render
COA Docket No.:04-15-00610-CV
Opinion Author:Honorable Marialyn Price Barnard

Trial Court

Trial Court:341st District Court
Trial Judge:Honorable Rebecca Beckie Palomo Ramirez
Trial Docket:2015-CVQ-00-1077-D3

Entries on SCOTX Orders Lists

None yet


Date Event  
2017-04-25 Pet/Rel reply brief on the merits due
2017-04-10 Respondent/Real party in interest brief on the merit due
2017-03-20 Petitioner brief on the merits due

Docket Entries

Date Event Outcome  
2017-03-03 Case Record Filed  
2017-02-21 Record Requested in Petition for Review  
2017-02-17 Brief on the Merits Requested  
2017-01-17 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2016-12-30 Electronic communication received from Party  
2016-12-30 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2016-12-23 Amended Reply Filed  
2016-12-22 Reply to Response (Petitioner)  
2016-12-14 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2016-12-13 Case forwarded to Court
2016-12-08 Amicus Curiae Brief received  
2016-12-07 Response to Petition (Respondent)  
2016-11-07 Petition for Review (Petitioner)  
2016-09-22 Motion for Extension of Time to File Petition for Review disposed   Filing granted
2016-09-22 Motion for Extension of Time to File Petition for Review filed  


Party Counsel Role
Laredo Merchants Association
Mr. Christopher C. Peterson
Mr. James B. Harris
Mr. Gabriel C. Gonzalez
City of Laredo, Texas
Ms. Kristina Kimberlee Laurel
Mr. Raul Casso IV
Ms. Andrea Broyles
Mr. Brian Hogue
Mr. Dale Wainwright
Ms. Lindsay E. Hagans

Amici Curiae

Amicus Curiae Counsel
Texas State Senator Judith Zaffirini
Mr. Timothy Stostad
The State of Texas
Mr. David Austin Robert Nimocks
Texas Retailers Association
Mr. Edward D. Burbach
Texas Municipal League and Texas City Attorneys Association
Ms. Christy Drake-Adams
Texas Public Policy Foundation
Ms. Allegra Dayle Hill
Mr. Robert Earl Henneke
Texas State Senators and Texas State Representatives
Mr. Christopher D. Kratovil
Ms. Kristina M. Williams